2021 Award Ceremony

Who will win?

Nine exciting new Australian writers have been shortlisted for the seventh annual Deborah Cass Prize for Writing.

The winner will be announced at an online award ceremony on Wednesday 17 November at 7pm (AEDT).

You can register for the event here. South African writer Sisonke Msimang will be the keynote speaker.

The shortlisted writers are CLOCKWISE FROM TOP LEFT:

Gary ParamanathanThe Dreaming

Gisele WeishanThe Marigold Girl 

Patrick ArulanandamThe Seconds of Holroyd House 

Bryant ApolonioIndependencia 

Mesh Tennakoon, The Lollipop Lady 

Sam ElkinMagic Waters 

Chamberlain ZhangSi Bo – Fourth Uncle – Eagle Flight 

Irina Frolova, On the Tail of the Firebird 

Maria KatsabanisMotherlode: Memory, Mothers and Migration 

Awarded to an unpublished first- or second-generation migrant writer, of any age and from any state or territory in Australia, the Prize winner will receive $3,000, the opportunity to be mentored by an established writer, and an introduction to Black Inc. publishers for consideration of the finished manuscript.

This year’s judges are Melanie Cheng, Lee Kofman and Sisonke Msimang.

Register for the event here.