2022 Shortlist

In its eighth and final year, the Deborah Cass Prize for Writing is pleased to announce the 2022 shortlist of eleven works by writers from a migrant background.

2022 Deborah Cass Prize for Writing shortlisted writers

The shortlisted writers are pictured from top to bottom and left to right:

Meghalee Bose, International Roaming Charges

Min Chow, Melonshine

Jing Cramb, The Baby

Olivia De Zilva, A Bigger Splash!

Anneliz Marie Erese, International

Sevim Dogan Ozkan, To Not Be Forgotten

Binh Pham, Girl on the Move

Anne Ryden, Ashes

Ara Sarafian, Crack

Niko Satria, Meeting Hunter

Nilofar Zimmerman, Kaa

There were 99 entries to the Deborah Cass Prize in 2022 and the shortlisting judges said they were impressed with their high overall quality.

The Deborah Cass Prize is awarded to an unpublished first- or second-generation migrant writer, of any age and from any state or territory in Australia. The Prize winner will receive $3,000, a three-month mentorship with an established writer, publication of their entry in Mascara Literary Review, and an introduction to Black Inc. publishers for consideration of their finished manuscript.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s