Who will win?

Nine exciting new Australian writers have been shortlisted for the seventh annual Deborah Cass Prize for Writing 2021.

The winner will be announced at an online award ceremony on Wednesday 17 November at 7pm (AEDT).

You can register for the event here. South African writer Sisonke Msimang will be the keynote speaker.

The shortlisted writers are CLOCKWISE FROM TOP LEFT:

Gary Paramanathan, The Dreaming (Sri Lankan Tamil)

Gisele Weishan, The Marigold Girl (South American)

Patrick Arulanandam, The Seconds of Holroyd House (Sri Lankan)

Bryant Apolonio, Independencia (Filipino)

Mesh Tennakoon, The Lollipop Lady (Sri Lankan)

Sam Elkin, Magic Waters (British)

Chamberlain Zhang, Si Bo – Fourth Uncle – Eagle Flight (Chinese)

Irina Frolova, On the Tail of the Firebird (Russian)

Maria Katasabanis, Motherlode: Memory, Mothers and Migration (Greek) (not pictured)

Awarded to an unpublished first- or second-generation migrant writer, of any age and from any state or territory in Australia, the Prize winner will receive $3,000, the opportunity to be mentored by an established writer, and an introduction to Black Inc. publishers to consider the finished manuscript.

This year’s judges are Melanie Cheng, Lee Kofman and Sisonke Msimang.

Register for the event here.