2021 Shortlist

Now in its seventh year, the Deborah Cass Writing Prize is pleased to announce the 2021 shortlist of nine works by writers from a migrant background.

2021 Deborah Cass Prize for Writing shortlisted writers

The shortlisted writers are CLOCKWISE FROM TOP LEFT:

Gary ParamanathanThe Dreaming

Gisele WeishanThe Marigold Girl 

Patrick ArulanandamThe Seconds of Holroyd House 

Bryant ApolonioIndependencia 

Mesh TennakoonThe Lollipop Lady 

Sam ElkinMagic Waters 

Chamberlain ZhangSi Bo – Fourth Uncle – Eagle Flight

Irina FrolovaOn the Tail of the Firebird 

Maria KatsabanisMotherlode: Memory, Mothers and Migration 

Awarded to an unpublished first- or second-generation migrant writer, of any age and from any state or territory in Australia, the Prize winner will receive $3,000, the opportunity to be mentored by an established writer, and an introduction to Black Inc. publishers to consider the finished manuscript.