2017 Shortlist

The Deborah Cass Prize Committee is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2017 prize.

This is the first year the prize has gone national, which is reflected in a doubling of the number of entries. This year we had 91 submissions from all states and territories except Tasmania and the Northern Territory.

The entries were of high quality and reflected a wide diversity of the migrant experience. Those selected for the shortlist were stories that were written in an engaging and interesting style, while at the same time they offered a fresh perspective on the migrant experience.

  • Lur Alghurabi, ‘Letters from the Grave’ (Iraq)
  • Antonella Fedele, ‘The Good Immigrants’ (Italy)
  • Rafeif Ismail, ‘Almitra Amongst the Ghosts’ (Sudan)
  • Mary Manias, ‘The Olive Tree’ (Greece)
  • Alexandra Mavridis, ‘Grecian Silhouettes’ (Greece)
  • Jenni Mazaraki, ‘Koukla’ (Greece)
  • Sivashneel Sanjappa. ‘The Journey Home’ (Fiji)
  • Fatima Sehbai, ‘Mithu and Sakina’ (Pakistan)
  • Jessie Tu, ‘Another Country’ (Taiwan)
  • Yen-Rong Wong, ‘Perfect’ (Malaysian-Chinese)

Tony Ayres, Alice Pung and Christos Tsiolkas are the Prize judges again in 2017.