2016 Shortlist

Five aspiring writers from migrant backgrounds have been shortlisted for the 2016 Deborah Cass Prize.

Now in its second year, the prize was established in the memory of Melbourne writer Deborah Cass and supports unpublished authors from a migrant background to find a voice. The prize provides the winner with the support of a mentor to help work towards a full-length work to submit for publication.

The shortlisted writers are:

  • Jean Bachoura, ‘Night Falls’
  • Katerina Craven, ‘Our Darkest Places’
  • Linda Judge, ‘Mother Tongue’
  • Edita Mujkic, ‘From There to Here’
  • Monica Raszewski, ‘The Archaeology of a Dream City’

The shortlisting panel said they were once again pleased with the number of entries and the quality of the five shortlisted stories.

“We are again excited to see how the shortlisted pieces show a powerful personal engagement with the migrant experience and use vivid writing to illuminate that experience,” the panel said.

“Whether the writers are migrants or their children, their writing reveals not only the joy, displacement, fulfilment and pain of migration but Australia’s deep and enduring connections to the rest of the world.”

Alice Pung, Christos Tsiolkas and Tony Ayres will judge the Prize.