2019 Shortlist

Now in its fifth year, the Deborah Cass Writing Prize is pleased to announce the 2019 shortlist of ten works by writers from a migrant background. In a brief statement, the shortlisting judges said that once again they were moved and impressed by the quality of the stories.

This year’s shortlisted entries were received from five states and territories: New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, Victoria and Western Australia.

  • Deniz Agraz, ‘Rosewater’ (Turkey)
  • Michelle Almiron, ‘El Cuco and Her Faithful Oso’ (Argentina)
  • Antoinette Bauer, ‘Bermuda Triangle’ (Ireland, Hungary)
  • Janette Chen, ‘Wall of Men’ (China)
  • Tinashe Jakwa, ‘Nothing But the Queen’s English’ (Zimbabwe)
  • Vicky Karitinos, ‘Lady Diana’ (Greece)
  • Anna Kortschak, ‘Pieces of Nothing’ (Czechoslovakia)
  • Mary Manias, ‘Burning Tyres By the Linden Tree’ (Bosnia)
  • Brian Obiri-Asare, ‘The Eclipse of the Sun’ (Ghana)
  • Belinda Paxton, ‘Clinging to Space Hardware’ (India)

According to Angela Savage, CEO of Writers Victoria, “This prize offers a critical link for writers from a migrant background who otherwise have difficulty accessing publishers. It’s pleasing to see such as a diversity of stories that contribute new perspectives to our culture, including a growing African voice.”

The prize winner and runners up will be determined by our judges, Melanie Cheng and Lee Kofman.

Read more here.